That Wawasan 2020 in 2006

In 2006 when I was sitting for my MUET Writing paper, I made a mistake which I laugh at every now and then when thinking about it. I was writing about the future and wanted to relate it to Vision 2020 – a Malaysian ideal mooted by the former Prime Minister of Malaysia, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in 1991.

I was so deep into my writing and focused on producing a relevant piece that I mistakenly used the term Wawasan 2020 – the malay version of Vision 2020 in my essay. I repeatedly used it without realising that I was making the dumbest mistake one could ever make ever! I realised it only the next day.

So, what is this Wawasan/Vision 2020?

It’s a long-term goal that was developed for the nation. Malaysia should achieve developed country status in its own mould by the year 2020.

But we are doubting this now. The main reason? The main emphasis of the Vision is economically related. Of course, there are other emphases. But by then, Malaysia is supposed to also be economically just and equitable, progressive and prosperous, and in full possession of an economy that is competitive, dynamic, robust and resilient.

However, many of us know that it’s hard to achieve a fair and reasonable distribution when donations go the wrong way (1MDB, high profile crime cover up,a big-ass wig, etc).

On a separate note, in the year 2020, I’ll be 33. At this rate, I don’t really know anymore where will I be or what will I be doing due to certain recent events. But I’ll just go with the flow.

Vision 2020, here I come! Ba-ba-dum-da-daaa…

Leave a Reply

